New Year, New — Meh

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Let’s be honest, you are going to write a long list of New Year’s resolutions and have nothing accomplished at the end of the year.

Probably that’s just me. I mean, I always start the year with this long, detailed list of the things I have to accomplish and the things I have to quit doing. I would right that I have to exercise at least three times a week, eat low-calorie meals, reduce rice intake, develop a study habit, keep my things organized, read at least one book every month, speak gently, and the list goes on. I even have annotations for every item which are strategies as to how I can accomplish the goal. However, before the year finally concludes, I end up not having ticked off anything in my list, at all.

New Year means New Me, at least for some people.

New Year has always been the best time to rethink the person you have been in the previous year. In the same way, it is the best time of the year to review the good and the bad and decide what to do about them. Thus, New Year has always been a good starting point for change.

I always get this feeling of satisfaction every time I decide to change my bad, old ways. I mean, I feel like I’m moving on from the person I used to be and into someone so much better. However, change does not happen through a simple list of resolutions. Nor does it happen overnight. Change is a gradual process of transformation that takes ample time to bear its fruits.

This coming New Year, I am ditching the list and modifying my lifestyle, instead, because the best way to change is to actually make the change. In order to change the old ways, one must first decide what change to make. Afterwards, a habit formation involving this change should be done. Habit formation entails that you do the habit everyday until it becomes a part of your daily routine. Once it is a part of your everyday life, then it has completely become a part of your lifestyle. It is necessary to do things little-by-little. One step at a time, one habit at a time.

 

After all, change is not a list, it’s a lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

