2016 Highlight 1: UPLB February Fair

The February Fair could be one of the biggest activities in UPLB. Historically, the UPLB Feb Fair started as the “Protest Fair” which is the students’ uprising against the proclamation of Martial Law in 1972. Through the years, the UPLB Feb Fair has continued to serve as an avenue to create social and political awareness among the students of UPLB and even among the members of the Los Banos community.

During Feb Fair, the UPLB student councils and organizations conduct a week-long activity in realizing the role of the Iskolar ng Bayan for social change. Aside from igniting the fire of an Iskolar, this year has been special to me because I saw my favorite local indie band perform live.

Ang Bandang Shirley has always been my favorite indie band for as long as I can remember. I was so excited to see them live. However, due to some unfortunate circumstances, I almost missed their entire set. I was too late when I arrived at the Feb Fair grounds. They were already performing their last song, Nakauwi Na, which happens to be my favorite. I cried with so much regret. This should have been special, I thought to myself. In the end, I was fortunate enough to meet them after their set and have my album signed.

It was special, after all.

Leave a Reply

